The Erskine Alumni Association’s Honors and Awards program is designed to give recognition to alumni and friends of the college and seminary for their outstanding accomplishments in a variety of areas. Please feel free to make nominations for any of these awards if you know someone who is deserving.


Sullivan Award Recipients

Mary Mildred Sullivan Award

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

1949 Martha Riggins Anderson James R. Young
1950 Bessie Byrd James R. McCain
1951 Alice L. Humphreys F. E. Grier
1952 Anna Marshall Robinson D. G. Phillips
1953 Janet Alexander John G. Barron
1954 Janie Burns Reid R. C. Grier
1955 Mary L. Kennedy A. J. Ranson
1956 Ann Pressly Sloan W. H. Stuart, Sr.
1957 Lena Ware McGill F. B. Edwards
1958 Edith Todd Pursley E. D. Craig
1959 Zula Brock Sharpe E. B. Kennedy
1960 Hamilton Henry Miller William C. Miller
1961 Harriet Edwards Spivey Joe H. Patrick
1962 Hanora Cuddy Dorn Rufus A. Grier
1963 Lola Bell Everett A. Sloan
1964 Elizabeth Nickles James Pressly
1965 Gladys Wilson York Robert Brownlee, Sr.
1966 Jean P. Pressly James N. Bonner
1967 Maude Bigham Thomas S. Watt
1968 Jennie Wideman G. Gordon Parkinson
1970 Dorothy Carson Hethcox William Hethcox
1971 Anne White Leith S. W. McCuen
1972 Winnie Morrison Phillips Paul L. Grier
1973 Jane Blakely Jennings William C. Halliday
1974 Flora McElroy Miller Hazel H. Long
1975 Kathryn Galloway W. M. Kennedy
1976 Augusta Orr Wolff W. M. Kennedy
1977 Frances Cardwell D. Patterson Craig
1978 Gladys Patrick Grier R. Thomas Nelson
1979 Henrietta F. Lesesne J. Calvin Reid
1980 Imogene Edmunds Covone Jessie S. Agnew
1981 Eleanor C. Pressly W. W. Orr
1982 Sarah Hopkins Sullivan Frank M. Hunt
1983 Nancy Kimmons J. Calvin Smith
1984 Margaret Kennedy Blakely Robert P. Falls
1985 Mary Millen Gettys H. Lloyd Wilkerson
1986 Alice L. Love Patrick G. Covone
1987 Mary Bonner Hugh C. Dale
1988 Sarah Hunter Pressly Joab Mauldin Lesesne
1989 Jean Galloway Bissell Laurie S. Brice, Sr.
1990 Mary Anderson Hunter Henry H. Hollingsworth
1991 Dot Dagenhart Moffatt G. Long
1992 Elisabeth Chisholm Huffman W. C. “Red” Myers
1993 Anne Whitesides Alexander Dwight L. Pearson
1994 Jo Ann Griffith J. Paul Todd
1995 Nancy J. Woods James H. Young
1996 Mabel L. Purkerson Robert J. Robinson
1997 Lila Galloway McMillan R. Brice Carson
1998 Betty Bigham Hunt John C. McGill
1999 Susan Aude Fisher William R. McCoy
2000 Grace Lucile Garrison Hill Lowry P. Ware
2001 Mrs. Charles P. Ewart Charles P. Ewart
2002 Elaine T. Wightman Joseph R. Beard
2003 Lyn Boyte Greene John R. Hunt
2004 Hope Mills Safrit Robert W. Miller
2005 Mrs. Mary Lou Whitesides Pearson Mr. R. Mack Robinson, Jr.
2006 Dr. Sara Covin Juengst Dr. Rex L. Carter
2007 Dr. Keller Cushing Freeman Mr. John M. Hunter, Sr.
2008 Georgia Cannon Young Dr. Julian E. McGill
2009 Beth Sloan Clarke Dr. D. Parker Young
2010 Melinda L. Scott Dr. John R. Galloway
2011 Angela McNeil Grooms Jason B. Dees
2012 Dr. Judith Sherrill Bazemore Dr. Ralph C. McCullough II
2013 Sarah Richie Dagenhart ’82 William B. Patrick, Jr. ’66