Erskine Digital Collections
The Erskine Digital Collections provide online access to original and unique materials housed in the McCain Library Department of Archives and Special Collections and serve:
- To expand the visibility and accessibility of the Archives’ unique resources
- To foster research and scholarship efforts on the Erskine campus and beyond
- To support lifelong learning enrichment
- To preserve and promote local cultural heritage.
Content from the Erskine Digital Collections is also included in the South Carolina Digital Library, a collaborative effort that includes South Carolina’s schools, libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
Erskine College Photograph Collection
Late 19th and early 20th century photographic images of students and campus life at Erskine College in Due West, S.C. Erskine College was founded in 1839 by the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church.
Due West Female College Photograph Collection
Late 19th and early 20th century photographic images of Due West Female College students and campus life. The DWFC opened in 1859 and was funded by a joint share-holding company, men mostly associated with the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church. The purpose was to give young women equal educational advantages with young men and to provide those of the church and the community an adequate education under Christian influences and environment. The DWFC operated in conjunction with the all-male Erskine College until 1904, when it became the Woman’s College of Due West.
Woman’s College of Due West Photograph Collection
Early 20th century photographic images from the Woman’s College of Due West (SC), including class pictures. In 1904, the Due West Female College (founded in 1859) came under the control of the Synod of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church, and the school’s name was changed to the Woman’s College of Due West. There was the same mission to provide young women with equal educational opportunity as young men. The Woman’s College co-existed alongside the all-male Erskine College from1904 until 1927, when the two institutions merged to become Erskine College.