skip to Main Content

The search for Erskine’s next president is under way. In early 2021, Erskine President Dr. Robert Gustafson announced his decision to retire at the end of the academic year. The Board of Trustees moved quickly to name Dr. Tom Hellams as interim president and appoint a presidential search committee charged with identifying and nominating the next president.

The search committee is chaired by Dr. Alan Broyles. He is joined by the Rev. Clint Davis, the Rev. Lee Shelnutt, the Rev. Andrew Shoger, Mrs. Kelly Sims, and Mr. Mike Whitehurst.

The search committee is committed to two key objectives:

  1. To work faithfully and diligently to identify the right candidate for this crucial position; and

  2. To maintain clear communication with the Erskine community throughout the process.

This webpage has been created to help facilitate both of those objectives.

For candidates interested in learning more about this position, we invite you to explore the following documents:

  1. President’s Job Description

  2. Introduction to Erskine College

  3. Mission and Values

  4. History and Traditions

  5. Introduction to Erskine Theological Seminary

  6. Philosophy of Christian Higher Education

Candidates may contact the committee directly here and may submit applications to the form here.

We invite members of the Erskine community to check in from time to time for updates from the committee. The committee has already met with representatives from various constituencies, including students, alumni, faculty, athletic staff, and senior staff. We value the input of the Erskine community and appreciate the feedback we have received. For additional information regarding the presidential search, please click here.

The Board and the Search Committee are trusting the Lord to direct us to the right candidate who can lead Erskine into a bright future!

Back To Top