Skip to content

Alpha Chi and ODK welcome new members

ODK-Alpha Chi-Alpha Chi group
Alpha Chi inductees and members

The Erskine College chapters of Alpha Chi National College Honor Society (Alpha Chi) and Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society (ODK) inducted new members in a campus ceremony Oct. 19.

Selected for membership in the SC-Iota Chapter of Alpha Chi this year were senior Kate Macsay of Greenwood; and juniors Clara Formby of North Augusta, Darby Gentry of Braselton, Ga., Elinor Griffin of Greenville, Christina Holbrooks of Mooresville, N.C., Jennifer Jennings of Greenwood, Jennifer Karel of Greenwood, Kate Keukelaar of Clarence, N.Y., and Meg Randall of Greenwood.

Chosen for membership in the Erskine College Circle of ODK were seniors Ford Blanchard of Orangeburg, Derrick Brown of Anderson, Robert Clarke of Due West, Trevor Mooreland of Columbia, Joseph Moss of Richburg, and Caroline Thomas of Raleigh, N.C.; and juniors Clara Formby of North Augusta, Darby Gentry of Braselton, Ga., Christina Holbrooks of Mooresville, N.C., Jennifer Jennings of Greenwood, Layne Jackson of Conyers, Ga., Alex Mooneyham of Gastonia, N.C., and Kathleen Watkins of Greenwood.

ODK new members 14
ODK inductees and members

Alpha Chi, founded in 1922, admits students from all academic disciplines. Membership is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s juniors, seniors, and graduate students. Its stated purpose is “to promote academic excellence and exemplary character among college and university students and to honor those who achieve such distinction.”

Current Alpha Chi officers are Rebekah Bowen, president; Heather Endicott, vice president; and Marti Hemphill, secretary.

ODK, founded in 1914, recognizes and encourages achievement in scholarship; athletics; campus and community service, social and religious activities, and campus government; journalism, speech and the mass media; and creative and performing arts. Qualifications for membership include exemplary character, responsible leadership, service in campus and community life, superior scholarship, genuine fellowship, and consecration to democratic ideals.

Current ODK officers are Angela Weatherly, president; Kelly Walker, vice president; and Kaitlin Hoffman, secretary.

ODK-Alpha Chi-Jennifer Karel
Jennifer Karel, an Alpha Chi inductee


Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top