Skip to content

Students travel to State House for Independent College and University Day

From left, front row: Kristin Irby, Anna Price, Cliff Smith; middle row: Amanda Stevenson, Mikayla Gregory, Sen. John L. Scott, Jr.; back row: Logan Franks, Matthew Henning, Alex Leasure

In celebration of Independent College and University Day, seven Erskine students from South Carolina—sophomore Logan Franks of Anderson, freshman Mikayla Gregory of Clinton, freshman Matthew Henning of Blythewood, senior Kristin Irby of Winnsboro, freshman Alex Leasure of Sumter, freshman Anna Price of Columbia, and sophomore Amanda Stevenson of Florence—joined students from South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (SCICU) member schools April 5 at the State House in Columbia to express their gratitude for the funding and support of tuition grants.

The Erskine group was accompanied by Vice President for Communications and Strategic Initiatives Cliff Smith.

A letter-writing campaign, in which tuition grant recipients at the 20 SCICU member schools wrote notes of thanks to South Carolina legislators, was conducted over several months prior to Independent College and University Day. This year, Erskine College was one of two schools recognized for 100 percent participation in the campaign, surpassing  its 85 percent participation rate last year, which was the highest among member schools for 2016.

Prior to visiting legislators at the State House, the students met with SCICU President and CEO Mike LeFever, who presented a 2017 SCICU Legislative Champion honor to Sen. John L. Scott, Jr. of Columbia. Dr. Earl Mayo, director of the South Carolina Tuition Grants Commission, also greeted students.

aaaa State House groupjpg
Representatives from SCICU member schools pose on the State House steps.


Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top