Skip to content

Erskine marks 50th year in South Carolina Student Legislature

Erskine’s delegation succeeded in both passage of legislation and leadership gains as it marked its 50th year in the South Carolina Student Legislature (SCSL) at the organization’s spring session April 19-21.

“This spring, every bill that was presented by our delegation at session passed and was signed by the SCSL governor,” junior Logan Franks of Anderson said. “In addition, Erskine College SCSL now holds four leadership positions in the statewide organization.”

Erskine students named to leadership positions at the meeting, held at Coastal Carolina University, included Franks, serving as speaker pro tempore; Austin Hough, a junior from Ninety Six, treasurer; Anna-Taylor Hydrick, a senior from St. Matthews, attorney general; and Ryan Teems, a  sophomore from Greer, comptroller general.

“Erskine is celebrating its 50th year in SCSL,” Franks said. “With a successful 2017-18 year, and with a committed and talented new group of members, we are looking forward to continued success.”

Members of the Erskine delegation in addition to Teems, Hough, Hydrick, and Franks included freshman Delaney Atkinson of Clinton; junior Kate Deak of Norfolk, Va.; sophomore Mikayla Glenn of Clintonjunior Halley Ham of Hartsville; freshman Rebecca Housel of Summerville; and junior Sarah Williamson of Belton.

Back row, from left, Sarah Williamson, Kate Deak, Logan Franks, Anna-Taylor Hydrick, Mikayla Glenn; front row, from left, Austin Hough, Halley Ham, Delaney Atkinson, Rebecca Housel. Not pictured: Ryan Teems.
Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top