Skip to content

Erskine Mall

Top scholarship recipients will join Erskine College Class of 2028

Four Presidential Scholarship winners and two Solomon Scholarship winners will be joining the Class of 2028 at Erskine College.

The Presidential Scholarship is the highest scholarship award offered at Erskine College, and covers tuition, room and board, and required fees, minus any state, federal, or outside scholarships and grants. This year’s Presidential winners are Madelyn Brooks, Maddy Keith, Porter Hanes, and Joy Williams.

Madelyn Brooks

Madelyn Brooks of Hartwell, Ga., is a homeschooled student who says she is “looking forward to being immersed into the Erskine community—growing under the wisdom of the faculty and sharing life with new peers!” She has served as a guitarist in her church’s youth worship band and has volunteered at a local pregnancy care center. She plans to participate in the Honors Institute at Erskine.

Porter Hanes

Porter Hanes of Chapin, S.C., ran junior varsity cross country and track at Chapin High School, served in a soup kitchen with his church, and worked as a camp counselor at Bonclarken Camp and Conference Center. “I am most looking forward to meeting new people and learning about subjects I am passionate about at Erskine,” he says. He is interested in joining the psychology club as well as the Choraleers and will participate in the Honors Institute.

Maddy Keith

Maddy Keith of Donalds, S.C., was a member of Beta Club at Dixie High School. She is active with her church’s youth group and has worked at a non-profit thrift store called Jamaican Relief Ministries. She now serves as manager of the store at its location in Abbeville, S.C. She looks forward to “connecting with the community at Erskine” and hopes to join women’s Bible studies and leadership groups.

Joy Williams

Joy Williams of Honea Path, S.C., graduated from Belton-Honea Path High School, where she  participated in soccer and served on the Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) leadership team. “I knew Erskine was my home,” she says, after attending the Presidential Scholarship event on campus. “I plan on getting involved in any and every activity that I’m able to do!”

The Solomon Scholarship covers up to 16 credit hours of tuition per semester and is renewable for a total of four years. The Solomon winners this year are Claren Johnston and Anna Grace Sturkie.

Claren Johnston

Claren Johnston of Abbeville, S.C., was homeschooled through Classical Coversations, participated in RYLA, and in the summer of 2023 was a Rotary exchange participant and ambassador to Argentina. At church, she serves in the nursery, in youth leadership, and on the youth praise team. “I’m looking forward to participating in the Honors Institute cohort and continuing to study classically at Erskine,” she says. She hopes to major in Early Childhood Education.

Anna Grace Sturkie

Anna Grace Sturkie of Honea Path, S.C. was homeschooled through Classical Conversations and looks forward to participating in the Honors Institute. She plays guitar on the praise team, assists with children’s classes, and is a greeter at her church. It was during her time at the Presidential Scholarship event on campus, she says, that “God clarified to me that Erskine was the place to pursue further education,” and adds, “I look forward to all Erskine has to offer.”



Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top