skip to Main Content

Alpha Chi welcomes new members

Alpha Chi President Vincent Chauvette, right, congratulates inductee Julia Price.

The South Carolina-Iota Chapter of Alpha Chi National College Honor Society inducted 10 new members at Erskine College  Saturday.

Founded in 1922, Alpha Chi admits students from all academic disciplines. Membership is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s juniors, seniors and graduate students.

Alpha Chi’s purpose is “to promote academic excellence and exemplary character among college and university students and to honor those who achieve such distinction,” according to the society’s website.

One senior, Julia Price of North Augusta, was selected for membership this year, along with nine juniors: Shelbee Cupp of Manning; Eric Goodwin of Greenville; Brandon Hammond of Belmont, N.C.; Robert Hammond of Belmont, N.C.; Abby Hope of Due West; Megan Kunkle of Sumter; Sarah LaCourse of Taylors; Nick Lewis of North Charleston; and Matthew Rice of Greer.

Alpha Chi’s induction ceremony was a joint event with the leadership honor society Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK), and several students were inducted into both societies.

Current officers of the South Carolina-Iota Chapter are Vincent Chauvette, president; Anna Cason, vice president; and Janna Bontreger, secretary-treasurer. Other members include Angelo Paolo Ciarrocchi, Michael Dean Harmon Jr., Katelin Manley, Nicole Miller and Amanda Reavis. Associate Professor of Music Dr. Brooks Kuykendall serves as faculty sponsor for the South Carolina-Iota Chapter of Alpha Chi.


Back To Top