Skip to content

Students receive awards at AAUW banquet

Erskine College honorees

The Due West Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) recognized 32 outstanding young women from Erskine College and Abbeville County high schools March 13 at the 53rd Annual Student Recognition Dinner in the Bell Conference Room on the Erskine campus.

The Rev. Dr. Jeri Parris Perkins,  dean of religious life at Presbyterian College, was the featured speaker. She talked about discerning her call to ministry and urged the honorees to listen for their own call.

Several AAUW members participated in the program. Professor Emerita of Biology Dr. Jan Haldeman welcomed AAUW members and honorees, and Sarah Kennerly offered a blessing. Pam Showalter and Haldeman presented the awards.

The Due West branch of AAUW has sponsored the student recognition dinner since its establishment 53 years ago. Several current members of the Erskine staff, including resident directors Ruth Burton and Carole Hill, were honorees at previous student recognition events.

Erskine College honorees and the subject areas in which they were recognized were: Laura Caskey, art; Sarah Brown, biology; Jourdan Page, business; Nikki Miller, Amanda Reavis and Portia Thomas, chemistry; Anna Cason, early childhood education; Kate Setzer and Emily Wentzky, elementary education; Emily Robinson, English; Janna Lynn Bontreger, health and human performance; Maria Cinquemani, history; Bailey Miller, mathematics; Aimee Dumouchel, music; Emily Robinson, politics; Julia Price, psychology; and Rebekah Sanchez, special education.

Abbeville High School honorees Katie Maeger, left, and Beth Ellen Houston

Abbeville High School students who received awards were Rachel Geer, English; Kendra Overholt, foreign language; Katie Maeger, math; Beth Ellen Houston, science; and Angie Maeger, social studies.

Calhoun Falls Charter School students honored were Kaitlyn Pless, English; Holly Campbell, foreign language; Sarah Shaufelberger, math; Jessica Sanders, science; and Jasmine Sanders, social studies.

Dixie High School students recognized were Tyler Brady, English; Riley Kneiding, foreign language; Allison Cunningham, math; Sara Jane Bush, science; and Kelsey Eller, social studies.

From left, Sarah Saufelberger, Kaitlyn Pless and Holly Campbell, all of Calhoun Falls Charter School




From left, Allison Cunningham, Kelsey Eller, Tyler Brady and Sara Jane Bush, Dixie High School honorees


Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top