Skip to content

Honor societies welcome new members

ODK inductees line up.

Twenty-one outstanding students were honored in a campus ceremony Saturday as the Erskine College chapters of both Alpha Chi National College Honor Society (Alpha Chi) and Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society (ODK) inducted new members.

Students selected for membership in the SC-Iota Chapter of Alpha Chi this year included seniors Kelley Griffin of Greenville, Leighton Morgan of Greenville, Amanda Reed of Anderson, and Victoria Unthank of West Columbia, as well as juniors Holly Anderson of Southern Pines, N.C., Cate Cardinale of Rock Hill, Christine Dumouchel of North Charleston, Laura Beth Jobe of Fort Mill, Sarah Pisano of Hendersonville, N.C., Nicole Shannon of Belton, Jacqueline Strowd of Turbeville, and Rachel Whitmire of Pendleton.

Students chosen for membership in the Erskine College Circle of ODK included seniors Courtney Balcome of Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada, Shelbee Cupp of Manning, Gabrielle Dierickx of Simpsonville, Eric Goodwin of Greenville, Megan Kunkle of Sumter, Leighton Morgan of Greenville, and Amanda Reed of Anderson, and juniors Cate Cardinale of Rock Hill, Roberto de la Vina of Oviedo, Spain, Christine Dumouchel of North Charleston, Tiffany Mills of Mount Pleasant, Rebecca Pearson of Laurens, Laura Walenceus of Greenwood, and Rachel Whitmire of Pendleton. Professor of Psychology Dr. Robert Elsner was this year’s faculty inductee.

Several students were inducted into both societies.

Alpha Chi, founded in 1922, admits students from all academic disciplines. Membership is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s juniors, seniors, and graduate students. Its stated purpose is “to promote academic excellence and exemplary character among college and university students and to honor those who achieve such distinction.”

Current Alpha Chi officers are Matthew Rice, president; Logan Hammond, vice president; and Nick Lewis, secretary-treasurer. Associate Professor of Music Dr. Brooks Kuykendall serves as faculty advisor.

ODK, founded in 1914, recognizes and encourages achievement in scholarship; athletics; campus and community service, social and religious activities, and campus government; journalism, speech and the mass media; and creative and performing arts. Qualifications for membership include exemplary character, responsible leadership, service in campus and community life, superior scholarship, genuine fellowship, and consecration to democratic ideals.

Current ODK officers are Brandon Hammond, president; Matthew Rice, vice president; and Schadell Brooks, treasurer. Younts Professor of Bible and Religion Dr. Bill Evans is the group’s faculty advisor and McCain Library Director and Associate Professor John Kennerly serves as faculty secretary.

Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top