skip to Main Content

Alpha Chi and ODK welcome new members

The Erskine College chapters of Alpha Chi National College Honor Society (Alpha Chi) and Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society (ODK) inducted new members in a campus ceremony Nov. 15.

Alpha Chi inductees 11-15
From left, Amy Burton, Dr. Brooks Kuykendall, Chance Fortenberry, Christina Holbrooks, Jennifer Jennings, Aaron Brown, Sarah Montoya, Reid Windmiller, Kate Macsay

Selected for membership in the SC-Iota Chapter of Alpha Chi this year were juniors Aaron Michael Brown of Mount Pleasant, Amy Elizabeth Burton of Ware Shoals, Chance Lee Fortenberry of Hartsville, Sarah Pressly Montoya of Summerville, and Reid Avery Windmiller of Peachtree City, Ga.

ODK group 11-15
From left, front row, Clara Formby, Amy Burton, Kasey McNair, Chance Fortenberry, Casey Rosborough, Ashley Mull, Michaela Jackson; middle row, Darby Gentry, Abigail Butler, Jordan Joseph, Blake Little, Arielle Houston, Kristen Craft; top row, Vincent Harris, Eduardo Ocampo, Logan Gibbons, Reid Windmiller, Kaitlyn Kerley, John Kennerly, Dr. Christine Schott

Juniors chosen for membership in the Erskine College Circle of ODK were Amy Elizabeth Burton of Ware Shoals, Abigail Rae Butler of Summerville, Kristen Marie Craft of Anderson, Chance Lee Fortenberry of Hartsville, Logan McDowell Gibbons of Chester, Vincent Adrian Harris of Durham, N.C., Arielle Denise Houston of North Augusta, Jordan Blade Joseph of Forsyth, Ga., Kaitlyn Ashley Kerley of North Charleston, Blake Elizabeth Little of Winnsboro, Marissa Alexandria Mayfield of Durham, N.C., Kasey Elizabeth McNair of Abbeville, Ashley Nicole Mull of Belmont, N.C., Eduardo Ocampo of Greenwood, and Reid Avery Windmiller of Peachtree City, Ga.

Seniors inducted into ODK were Casey Christina Rosborough of Boiling Springs and Neal Alexander Stanley of Winter Garden, Fla.

Assistant Professor of English Dr. Christine Schott was selected as an ODK faculty inductee this year.

Alpha Chi, founded in 1922, admits students from all academic disciplines. Membership is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s juniors, seniors, and graduate students. Its stated purpose is “to promote academic excellence and exemplary character among college and university students and to honor those who achieve such distinction.”

Current Alpha Chi officers are Jennifer Jennings, president; Christina Holbrooks, vice president; and Kate Macsay, secretary-treasurer. Professor of Music Dr. J. Brooks Kuykendall serves as faculty advisor.

ODK, founded in 1914, recognizes and encourages achievement in scholarship; athletics; campus and community service, social and religious activities, and campus government; journalism, speech and the mass media; and creative and performing arts. Qualifications for membership include exemplary character, responsible leadership, service in campus and community life, superior scholarship, genuine fellowship, and consecration to democratic ideals.

Current ODK officers are Darby Gentry, president; Clara Formby, vice president; and Michaela Layne Jackson, secretary-treasurer. Younts Professor of Bible and Religion Dr. William B. Evans serves as faculty advisor for the group, and Associate Dean for the Library John Kennerly is faculty secretary.

Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top