Skip to content

Erskine Staff Member Jamie Williams, Left, And Stanford Award Recipient Anna Grace Sturkie.

Homeschooled Erskine-bound senior receives first Stanford Award

Anna Grace Sturkie, a homeschooled high school senior who plans to attend Erskine College in the fall, has been presented with the first-ever Stanford Award.

Given to “a high school senior who has demonstrated a commitment to the Gospel and to ministry excellence during his or her high school years,” the award is named for the Rev. Henry G. Stanford, Jr. in honor of his faithful service as a pastor and missionary. Stanford is a 1967 graduate of Erskine College and completed his studies at Erskine Theological Seminary in 1983.

Sturkie was nominated by Tony Davis, a member of Bethany World Outreach Center, Honea Path, South Carolina. Davis describes Sturkie’s service at Bethany, including her work as a teacher in the children’s department, a member of the praise team, and a member of the greeting committee.

“Anna Grace’s creativity and enthusiasm for sharing the love of Christ with the next generation is a constant source of encouragement to me,” Davis says.

The high schooler has also been involved with Widows’ Watchman Ministries mission efforts through Greenwood Presbyterian Church. She has attended TeenPact, a Christian educational ministry which sponsors programs on leadership, citizenship, and government. She will be serving on the TeenPact staff in May.

The Stanford Award is a new Erskine College scholarship started by staff member Jamie Williams, who served for 30 years in ministry and now works in external relations and recruitment on Erskine’s Admissions team.

Williams says Stanford “is the man who led me to the Lord and baptized me,” and he is grateful to Stanford as well as to the individuals and congregations who supported the scholarships he received as a student.

“This is a fund that will celebrate students who have a love for the gospel ministry with a financial award that will help them come to the very special campus of Erskine College.”

Donors who made this year’s award possible include Shirley Adams, Chris Brown, Kenny and Nan Campbell, ErMing Chen (China One Restaurant), Kay Hiott, Jay Martin, Kathleen Moore, Marty Stanford, Margaret Waldrop, David White, Jamie Williams, Phyllis and Herbert Williams, and Herbert Zimmerman.

Pictured above are Erskine staff member Jamie Williams, left, and Stanford Award recipient Anna Grace Sturkie.



Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top