skip to Main Content

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is the most prestigious of the awards presented by the Alumni Association and recognizes service to one’s church, community, profession, and Erskine over the span of one’s lifetime.

1958William Hood Stuart
1959Francis Ebenezer Grier
1962Robert Calvin Grier
D. G. “Dode” Phillips
1967Everette Sloan and Ann Pressly Sloan
1970James Patterson Pressly
1971Jean Wood Todd
1972Hugh Chisolm Dale
1973Sarah Hopkins Sullivan
1974James Dixon Lesslie, Jr.
1975Thomas Selden Watt
1976Joseph Howard Patrick, Sr.
1977Robert Witherspoon Miller
1978William Chamber “Red” Myers
1979Moffatt Grier Long
1980Mae Todd Moore
1981Elisabeth Chisolm Huffman
1982Jane Blakely Jennings
1983“Tum” and “Totsy” Lesesne
1984J. M. Plaxco
1985Ralph W. Drake
1986Martha Abernethy Long
1987Jack and Anne Whitesides Alexander
1988Lloyd H. Wilkerson
1989D. Patterson Craig
1990James H. and Betty Henry Young
1991Mary E. McDill
1992John and Mary Hunter
1993Winnie Morrison Phillips
1994Frank and Margaret Hunt
1995William B. Patrick, Jr.
1996L. M. “Dill” and Rachel Allison
1997Gordon G. Parkinson
1998-99Henry L. Sneed, Jr.
William L. Pressly
2000John M. Galloway
2001John T. Moore
2002Dot Simpson Wise
2003P. Cleburne McClary III
2004William J. Ranson
2005D. Parker Young
2006John Charles McGill
2007Thomas W. Myers
2008Joe and Kathy Black
2009Cliff N. Wallace
2010Dr. John Miller Grier
2011Lowry Ware
2012Eleanor Chesnut Richardson
2013Randall T. Ruble and Martha Grant Ruble
2014Dr. Joab Mauldin “Joe” Lesesne, Jr.
2015Dr. Richard G. Taylor, Jr.
2016Dr. Clifton Earl Linderman
2016Harriet Elizabeth Smith Linderman
2017Rev. Howard Max Bolin
2017Cynthia Coulter Bolin
2019Joseph H. "Chip" Sherer Jr.


Paul Bell

Vice President for Advancement and Alumni Relations A.B., Erskine College; M.A., Appalachian State University

read more

Luisa Chmielecki

Coordinator of Advancement Services B.S., Eastern Connecticut State University

read more

Jeanne Bell

Administrative Assistant for Alumni & Advancement, Coordinator of Supplemental Instruction A.B., Erskine College; M.A., Appalachian State University

read more

Hope Crenshaw

Coordinator of Alumni Relations B.A. Erskine College

read more
Back To Top