Skip to content

Faculty and staff members honored at banquet

Ann Hawthorne, left, applauds as Dr. Jan Haldeman, right, is recognized.

Erskine College and Seminary faculty and staff members were honored April 17 at the 5th Annual Faculty and Staff Appreciation Banquet in Moffatt Dining Hall.

One retiring staff member and two retiring professors were also recognized.

Greg Haselden, vice president for finance and operations, served as master of ceremonies for the evening.

Erskine President Dr. David Norman offered welcoming remarks and Dr. Robert Bell, dean of the seminary, gave the invocation.

Dr. Jan Haldeman, professor emerita of biology, was honored for her 50 years of service to Erskine College. She remains a part-time professor of biology and devotes considerable time to the Pressly Family Heritage Garden on campus. Interim Vice President and Dean of the College Dr. Brad Christie, who presented the service awards, praised Haldeman’s extensive knowledge of plants and expressed his appreciation for having taken a class with her.

Ann Hawthorne, administrative assistant for the alumni office, was recognized for 40 years of service, and Debby McDill, campus post office supervisor, was honored for 20 years of service.

Dr. Randy Ruble, right, congratulates Bobby Clarke.

Receiving 10-year service awards were Dr. Richard Burnett and Dr. Jerdone Davis, both members of the Erskine Seminary faculty; Dr. Maggie Emery and Professor Sharon Linnehan of the Erskine College faculty; and staff members Brian Smith, director of communications technology in the marketing and public relations department, and Bart Walker, assistant athletic director for compliance and sports information.

The Ruble Award for Staff Member of the Year was given to Director of Information Technology Bobby Clarke. Erskine President Emeritus Dr. Randall T. Ruble, for whom the award is named and who established the fund for the award, was on hand for the presentation.

Charlene Haynes, who retired as registrar of the college, was recognized, along with two retiring faculty members, Associate Professor of Business Administration Ben Jeffords and Associate Professor of Music Robert Glick.

Dr. Steve Lowe, interim vice president of Erskine Seminary, offered a closing prayer.

Bob Glick tries out his retirement rocker.



Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top