skip to Main Content

New business honor society chapter inducts charter members

Business honor society inductees
Inductees and professors, from left, Wilson Mathewes, Karen Mattison, Connor Gibson, George Wood,  Landon Dickerson, Daniel Beaty, Marlee Rhodes,  Andrew Settlemire, Casey Rosborough, Tara Potter, Tracy McCurry, Ford Blanchard, Matt Huber, Krysta Schaus. Not pictured: Joshua Nowak, Michael Schneck, Brad Thorne, Coleman Welch.

A newly formed Erskine College chapter of the Sigma Beta Delta International Business Honor Society inducted 15 charter members in a ceremony April 27 during a banquet in the Founders Room of Moffatt Dining Hall.

Gary Gilmer, president of The Renaissance, a Due West retirement facility, spoke at the event and was named an honorary member of Sigma Beta Delta. Gilmer “encouraged students to follow a path and continue their hard work,” Assistant Professor of Business Karen Mattison said. “He explained that there seems to be a strong correlation between ‘luck’ and hard work.”

Seven founding chapters of Sigma Beta Delta were established in 1994 with a mission “to encourage and recognize scholarship and accomplishment among students of business, management and administration, and to encourage and promote aspirations toward personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind.”

Today, more than 400 chapters have been established in 47 states and internationally, and more than 80,000 members have been inducted into the society.

Junior and senior business and sport management students who rank in the upper 20 percent of their class are eligible for induction into Sigma Beta Delta.

Juniors inducted were Landon Chase Dickerson, Williamston, S.C.; Connor Colle Gibson, Greer, S.C.; Joshua Michael Nowak, Winston-Salem, N.C.; Casey Christina Rosborough, Boiling Springs, N.C.; Krysta Lauren Schaus, Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada; and Michael Lester Schneck, Gulfport, Fla.

Seniors inducted were Daniel Edward Beaty, Lexington, S.C.; Leonard Bassford Blanchard, Orangeburg, S.C.; Christopher Wilson Mathewes V, Simpsonville, S.C.; Tara Kailee Potter, Charlotte, N.C.; Marlee Ann Rhodes, Williamston, S.C.; Andrew Michael Settlemire, Beaufort, S.C.; Bradford Charles Thorne, Moore, S.C.; Richard Coleman Welch, Belton, S.C.; and George Russell Wood, Atlanta, Ga.

Assistant Professor of Business Administration Tracy McCurry serves as chapter advisor.





Back To Top