Skip to content

Reception given for Erskine faculty and staff members

Dale Smith, right, receives memento from Dr. Joanne Jumper
Dale Smith, right, receives memento from Dr. Joanne Jumper

Erskine College and Seminary faculty and staff members were honored May 4 at a Faculty and Staff Appreciation Reception in the Bowie Arts Center.

Assistant Professor of Education Dale Smith, who began her service at Erskine in 2005, was recognized on the occasion of her retirement. Associate Professor of Education Dr. Joanne Jumper offered a tribute to Smith.

Fac.-Staff-Jan Haldeman crop
Dr. Jan Haldeman, right, is congratulated by Greg Haselden.

Professor Emerita of Biology Dr. Janice Haldeman was recognized for her 55 years of service to Erskine College.

Faculty and staff members from the college and seminary honored for 10 years of service were Dr. Leslie Holmes, Polly Jones, Dr. Ekaterina Michonova, Dr. Al Mina, Lori Mulzer, Dr. David Reiter, Dr. Max Rogland, Drew Wallace, and Dr. Ashley Woodiwiss.

The Ruble Award for Staff Member of the Year was given to Ruth Burton, director of the Bowie Arts Center and for many years resident director of Carnegie, the freshman women’s residence hall. Erskine President Emeritus Dr. Randall T. Ruble, for whom the award is named and who established the fund for the award, was on hand for the presentation.

Assisting with the program were Senior Vice President for Finance and Operations Greg Haselden as well as faculty members Dan Corsi, who offered a welcome and opening remarks; Dr. Terry Eves, who gave the invocation; and Dr. Howard Thomas, who offered a closing prayer.





Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top