skip to Main Content

Alpha Chi and ODK induct new members

Nineteen outstanding students were honored in a campus ceremony Oct. 12 as the Erskine College chapters of both Alpha Chi National College Honor Society (Alpha Chi) and Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society (ODK) inducted new members.

Alpha Chi inductees
From left, Alpha Chi inductees Rachel Talbot, Rebekah Bowen, Ford Blanchard, Derrick Brown, Marti Hemphill, and Heather Endicott.

Students selected for membership in the SC-Iota Chapter of Alpha Chi this year included seniors Michelle Aiken of Waterloo and Carly McCalla of Greenwood; juniors Ford Blanchard of Orangeburg, Rebekah Bowen of Columbia, Derrick Brown of Anderson, Heather Endicott of Greenville, Ronnie Funk of Spartanburg, Marti Hemphill of Moreland, Ga., and Rachel Talbot of Rock Hill.

ODK large group
ODK inductees pose with members who attended the ceremony and faculty secretary John Kennerly (far right).

Students chosen for membership in the Erskine College Circle of ODK included seniors Anna Butrym of  West Columbia, Nicole Shannon of Belton, and Brock Sherrod of Winnsboro; and juniors Chelsea Ball of Spartanburg, Ronnie Funk of Spartanburg, Kaitlin Hoffman of Gastonia, N.C., Angela Hornby of Grayson, Ga., Tara Potter of Charlotte, N.C., Kyle Ritland of Honea Path, Trevor Ritland of Honea Path, Rachel Talbot of Rock Hill, and Kelly Walker of Hendersonville, N.C.

Alpha Chi, founded in 1922, admits students from all academic disciplines. Membership is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s juniors, seniors, and graduate students. Its stated purpose is “to promote academic excellence and exemplary character among college and university students and to honor those who achieve such distinction.”

Current Alpha Chi officers are Laura Beth Jobe, president; Rachel Whitmire, vice president; and Holly Anderson, secretary-treasurer. Associate Professor of Music Dr. Brooks Kuykendall serves as faculty advisor.

ODK, founded in 1914, recognizes and encourages achievement in scholarship; athletics; campus and community service, social and religious activities, and campus government; journalism, speech and the mass media; and creative and performing arts. Qualifications for membership include exemplary character, responsible leadership, service in campus and community life, superior scholarship, genuine fellowship, and consecration to democratic ideals.

Current ODK officers are Cate Cardinale, president; Amanda Reed, vice president; and Rachel Whitmire, secretary-treasurer. Younts Professor of Bible and Religion Dr. Bill Evans is the group’s faculty advisor and McCain Library Director and Associate Professor John Kennerly serves as faculty secretary.



Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top