Skip to content

SGA announces new award as student leaders are honored

SGA passing of gavel
Outgoing SGA President Daniel Prohaska, left, passes the gavel to newly elected SGA President Pete Savarese.

Recently elected student leaders as well as officers who are completing their terms this year were honored May 7 in the Bowie Arts Center at the 2014 “Student Leadership & Awards Gala” sponsored by the Student Government Association and the Office of Student Services.

SGA Awards-Buddy and Kim
Daniel Prohaska, left, with Buddy and Kim Ferguson

Awards were presented during the evening, including the newly created Ferguson Legacy Award honoring Director of Alumni Affairs Buddy Ferguson ’82 and his wife Kim.

The Ferguson Award is to be “presented annually to the individual whom the SGA Senate believes exemplifies enthusiastic support for Erskine, a personal connection to the student body, a compassionate heart for service and sacrifice, and dedicated involvement in the local community.”

Director of Admissions Tobe Frierson ’02 received the award.

Pete Savarese, a junior from Hilton Head Island, has been elected Student Government Association (SGA) president at Erskine College. He succeeds outgoing SGA President Daniel Prohaska, a senior from Moncks Corner.Other SGA officers elected include junior Melanie Locke of Summerville, vice president; junior Ford Blanchard of Orangeburg, treasurer; junior Robert Clarke of Due West, secretary; and freshman Michael Byrd of Charleston, parliamentarian.

Student Christian Association (SCA) officers chosen were junior Chelsea Ball of Spartanburg, president (serving a second term); junior Gabe Clinton of Columbia, vice president; sophomore April Bussey of Spartanburg, secretary; and sophomore Foster Krebs of Columbia, treasurer.

Selected to lead the Erskine Entertainment Board were junior Kathleen Watkins of Greenwood, president (serving a second term); freshman Amy Burton of Ware Shoals, vice chair; and junior Chelsy Hunter of Anderson, treasurer.

Nicole Shannon, left, with Lillian Gordon, recipient of the Honorary Senator Award
Nicole Shannon, left, with Lillian Gordon, recipient of the Honorary Senator Award

Judicial Council officers chosen were sophomore Ana Unda of Flat Rock, N.C., chair; and sophomore Stephen Maguire of Mount Pleasant, vice chair.

Student Government Awards, Student Services Awards, Intersociety Awards, and other honors and recipients were:

Ruble Student Servant Leadership Award:  Chelsea Ball, Gabe Clinton, Daniel Prohaska, Kathleen Watkins

Distinguished Senator Award: Michael Byrd

Honorary Senator Award: Lillian Gordon

The President’s Award: Rachel Whitmire, Amanda Reed

Greek Man of the Year: Jon Valentine

Greek Woman of the Year: Amanda Reed

Student Publication of the Year: Jennifer Jennings, Campfire Culture

Student Leaders in the CommunityVolunteer Firefighters Chase Ginn and Matthew Going; Student Lions Melanie Locke, Daniel Prohaska, and Will Unthank

Organization of the Year: Omicron Delta Kappa

SGA-surprising Kennerly
John Kennerly, center, who was unable to attend the awards event, was surprised in his office by Daniel Prohaska, Parker Edison, Whitney Atkins, and Rachel Whitmire.

Organization Adviser of the Year: John Kennerly

See more photos here.







Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top