skip to Main Content

Rachel Wittig receives Ruth Kelly Scholarship

Erskine College senior Rachel Wittig of Fayetteville, N.C. received the Ruth Kelly Scholarship from Mental Health America (MHA) of Abbeville County Nov. 16, during the 55th annual Abbeville Mental Health Banquet in Erskine’s Moffatt Dining Hall.

The scholarship is given annually to an outstanding Erskine senior for “excellence in a field leading to a career in mental health service.”

Wittig is shown in the photo above at The Renaissance, a retirement center in Due West, where she recently spearheaded a service project.

Assistant Professor of Psychology Dr. Briana Van Scoy, who presented the award, praised Wittig as a “responsible, organized” student who is a leader in the Erskine Society For Psychology as well as in Erskine’s theater program and in service to the community.


Richard Haldeman, an honorary alumnus of Erskine College who serves as treasurer of MHA of Abbeville County, contributed material for this story. In his article for the Due West Village Observer, he noted that Rachel Wittig is the granddaughter of Hillard Allen of Due West and the late Carolyn Griffith Allen ’57 and is also the great-niece of Jo Ann Griffith ’56, also of Due West.





Back To Top