skip to Main Content

Euphies edge out Philos to win Darlington Cup

From left, Euphemians Crawford Krebs, Hunter Covington, and Dylan Kelley with trophy cup

Six debaters squared off April 19 in a Darlington Cup competition between the Euphemian and Philomathean literary societies, with the Euphemians prevailing in a close contest. The debate was presented in Lesesne Auditorium during convocation.

Considering the question of whether gun control laws should be enacted by the federal government were three Euphies arguing for the proposition and three Philos arguing against it. Senior Hunter Covington of Rock Hill, junior Dylan Kelley of Honea Path, and senior Crawford Krebs of Columbia represented the Euphemians and junior Mark Malone of Anderson, senior Walker Riley of Summerville,  and senior Luke Terry of Anderson represented the Philomatheans.

The debate was moderated by Provost of the College Dr. John Basie. Professor of Psychology Dr. Robert Elsner, Professor of Philosophy Dr. David Reiter, and Assistant Professor of English Dr. Christine Schott served as judges.

An intersociety debate with the winner awarded the Darlington Cup was introduced at Erskine in 1912, when alumnus and benefactor J.J. Darlington presented the trophy cup, crafted by Tiffany & Co., to the school. The competition was last held in 2012.

See more photos from the Darlington competition here.



Back To Top