Skip to content

Honor societies meet to induct new members

Alpha Chi inductees with other members

The Erskine College chapters of Alpha Chi National College Honor Society (Alpha Chi) and Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society (ODK) inducted new members in a ceremony Oct. 28 in the Founders Room of Moffatt Dining Hall.

Students selected for membership in the SC-Iota Chapter of Alpha Chi this year were, from the college, juniors Rachel Bishop, Ashton Coker, Sarah Kate Coleman, Caycie Hurst, Xen McCoy*, Malarie Schexnider*, and Grayson Sullivan*; and senior Zachary Morgan. Seminary students chosen were Martha-Margaret Cotton, Thomas Davis, Kyle Keesling, and John Panagiotou.

Selected for membership in the Erskine College Circle of ODK were juniors Jacob French Bennett, Samuel David Bennett, Laura Sidney Coleman, Margaret Elizabeth Dare, Katherine Marie Epps, Iris Marie Gadsden, Alexander Whitford Leasure, Xen Elizabeth McCoy*, Kaeli Medlin, Malarie Eloisenn Schexnider*, Anna Faith Smith, and Grayson Wilson Sullivan*; and seniors Emily Lane Bray, Reagan Nicole Davis, Sara Eleanor Dooley, Dylan Ryan Kelley, and Elizabeth Hope Schneider.

Alpha Chi, founded in 1922, admits students from all academic disciplines. Membership is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s juniors, seniors, and graduate students. Its stated purpose is “to promote academic excellence and exemplary character among college and university students and to honor those who achieve such distinction.”

Current Alpha Chi officers are Cori Damron, president; Elizabeth Bishop, vice president; AnnaTaylor Hydrick, secretary; and Emily Bray, treasurer. Dr. Robert Elsner serves as faculty advisor.

ODK inductees with other members

ODK, founded in 1914, recognizes and encourages achievement in scholarship; athletics; campus and community service, social and religious activities, and campus government; journalism, speech, and the mass media; and creative and performing arts. Qualifications for membership include exemplary character, responsible leadership, service in campus and community life, superior scholarship, genuine fellowship, and consecration to democratic ideals.

Current ODK officers are Amanda Stevenson, president; Abby Schmidt, vice president; and Kayla Kieffer, secretary. Younts Professor of Bible and Religion Dr. William B. Evans serves as faculty advisor and John Kennerly is circle coordinator.


*Indicates students who were inducted into both honor societies at the ceremony.



Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top