Skip to content

Erskine receives best small delegation award at SCSL

For the fifth time in the past 10 years, the Erskine College delegation was named the best small delegation at the South Carolina Student Legislature (SCSL). Nineteen Erskine College students attended the fall session of SCSL, including delegation chair Logan Franks, a senior from Anderson majoring in political science. He reported on the group’s activities and successes.

“As a delegation, Erskine submitted 14 bills and amendments, and passed 12 of them, a significant number by unanimous consent,” Franks said.

Austin Hough, a senior psychology major from Ninety Six, state treasurer for SCSL, presented the organization’s operating budget for the year.

Ryan Teems, comptroller general, presents the audit report.

Ryan Teems, a senior business administration major from Greer who served as comptroller general for SCSL, performed and presented the annual audit of all expenses.

Franks completed his term as speaker pro tempore and also served as speaker of the house for most of the year. He was a finalist for the Carlisle Award, the highest honor given by the South Carolina Student Legislature.

Sophomore Delaney Atkinson of Clinton was elected president pro tempore for the coming year and will serve as Erskine’s next delegation chair.

Junior Alex Leasure, an American studies major from Sumter, was elected lieutenant governor.

Senior Amanda Stevenson, a political science major from Florence, was a finalist for the Best Representative Award.

Caroline Woolard, a freshman from Camden, was chosen to receive the Blake Alexander Campbell Memorial Award, given to the freshman who is judged the most positive representative for the future of SCSL.

Other members of the Erskine delegation included senior business administration major Kate Deak of Norfolk, Va.; sophomore Tanner Frye of Spartanburg; freshman Jacob Gamble of Leesville; senior psychology major Halley Ham of Hartsville; senior American studies major AnnaTaylor Hydrick of St. Matthews; freshman Noah Jordan of Lugoff; sophomore Paul Lawing of Maiden, N.C.; junior biology major Imani Parks-Williams of Columbia; sophomore history major Leigh Pendergrass of Columbia; junior Bible and religion major Anna Price of Columbia; sophomore Brooke Weathers of Greenwood; and senior business administration major Sarah Williamson of Belton.

Marissa Niño of the Student Development staff serves as delegation sponsor and accompanied the students to Columbia.

Erskine and Due West Skyline

Interested in Erskine?

Erskine College admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.

Back To Top